I have always been a firm believer in blogging and I have been doing it for several years now. I have experienced the benefits of blogging as it relates to an increase in site traffic and search engine optimization. But, I just read a blog post from the president of Compendium Software, Ali Sales, that touched on a few key points.

Ali mentions that quantity is extremely important. I kind of already knew this but her point was that quantity is more important than getting your individual posts perfect. So, if you have something to say, better to write about it as soon as you can, get it posted and move on to the next post rather than trying to perfect and ruminate over the 10 paragraph post that you want to write but may not have time for.

She also mentions inclusion of a call to action. I have to admit that I have not always done this as well as I could have. In my most recent position at Basho Technologies, I would always post a new podcast, link to relevant pages but things probably stopped there. I noticed on Ali's blog, she has a graphic to link to a webinar invitation and a whitepaper download right next to her most recent post. It is done very nicely and I plan to incorporate this strategy in the future.

Happy Blogging!
Cheers,
Renay




Leave a Reply.

    Renay Picard

    Marketing professional with a passion for finding new ways to grow the brand and further the cause of thought leadership.
    I live in the Boston area with my husband and 2 wonderful kids. I am also a working mother and connect with others for advice and the expansion of resources for all working mothers.

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Archives

    April 2009
    March 2009
    February 2009
    January 2009
    December 2008

    Categories

    All
    Blogging
    Blogging For Search
    Cafemom
    Linkedin
    Online Community
    Podcast
    Search Engine Optimization
    Social Media
    Social Networking
    Website Design

    RSS Feed